• Toyota BJ

Björn Waldegard (Rimbo, November 12, 1943) is a former Swedish rally driver. He was one of the main drivers in the World Rally Championship in the seventies and eighties, and was in the year 1979 is also the first official world champion in the drivers’ championship; a title he wrote the name behind the wheel of a Ford Escort RS1800.

Waldegard in Sweden nicknamed "Walle", is also known for his long working relationship with Toyota, which lasted from the early eighties and the early nineties. That he won the famous Safari Rally no less than three times, at the latest in 1990, at the age of 46, which he up to now still preserving the record as the oldest winner of a World Championship rally.

Waldegard has also participated in the mid-seventies to rallycross with some success.

Björn Waldegard debuted in 1962 in the sport. Success did not last long, because when he won consecutive Swedish Rally Championship in 1967 and 1968. International success came not long afterwards when he was with surprise the Monte Carlo wrote his name in 1969 in a factory Porsche 911; a stunt that he managed to repeat in 1970, also in a Porsche. By the time of the inaugural season of the World Rally Championship in 1973, was Waldegard now one of the front men at the highest level of rallying. In 1975 he took his place at the Italian team Lancia Stratos HF with the innovative. With this car, he grabbed his first victories in the World Championships in Sweden that year. In 1976 there was some controversy during the Rally of San Remo, the home event for Lancia. It was a neck and neck race between Waldegard and teammate Sandro Munari. Prior to the last special stage of the competition was Waldegard just four seconds ahead of Munari. However, the team management would have preferred a tie for as of that trial, and urged these principles to Waldegard. Who ignored this, however, and it was full and then rally to win. Before the end of the season he left Lancia to subsequently sign with Ford. Driving the Escort model, did Waldegard again to be competitive. As of the season 1979 introduced the automobile umbrella organization for the first time an official FIA Drivers’ standings in the World Cup. Waldegard grip, with just one point ahead of teammate Hannu Mikkola, to his first and only world title that year.

He was also in 1980 as the first rider to his title did not successfully defend when Walter Röhrl was ironing. Honors for that year Waldegard drove from the 1981 season for Toyota, the team led by former rider and fellow countryman Ove Andersson. There he was responsible for the first major successes of the team, which he reached for Toyota’s first victory in the World Cup during the Rally of New Zealand in the 1982 Toyota. at the time of the Group B era in the eighties not competitive in Europe, but it presented itself to a successful power in the African events. In this period Waldegard won the Safari Rally and the Rally of Ivory Coast twice. In the 1990 season he reached for his last victory Safari – and also his – that he was the oldest winner of a World Championship rally at the age of 46, that time; a record that he still has the name stand. In 1992 he made a comeback in this rally with Lancia, but was it witnessed a violent accident in which he broke his arm, so he had to finish. His active career

In 1993 he was a guest driver during the Dutch Golden Tulip Rally (now Hellendoorn Rally) in a Nissan Sunny GTI-R, but it was the first test of whether an accident. Nowadays Waldegard still regularly active in historic rally events and demonstrations. In 2008, he was also a participant in the Colin McRae Forest Stages, an event commemorating the eponymous rally driver who died in 2007.

1993: Juha Kankkunen · 1994: Didier Auriol · 1995: Colin McRae · 1996-1997-1998-1999: Tommi Mäkinen · 2000: Marcus Grönholm · 2001: Richard Burns · 2002: Marcus Grönholm · 2003: Petter Solberg · 2004-2005 – 2006-2007-2008-2009-2010-2011-2012: Sébastien Loeb · 2013: Sébastien Ogier

1995-1996-1997: Subaru · 1998: Mitsubishi · 1999: Toyota · 2000-2001-2002: Peugeot · 2003-2004-2005: depart · 2006-2007: Ford · 2008-2009-2010-2011-2012: depart · 2013: Volkswagen